• Title

  • Commonweal Theatre Company

    • Theatres
    • Group Activities
    • Weekday Escape
    • Self-guided Tours
    208 Parkway Ave N
    Lanesboro, MN 55949
    (507) 467-2525
    (800) 657-7025
    (507) 467-2468 (fax)
    Hours:
    Varied. Spring & summer: T/W-Su 10a - showtime; Summer & fall add M 10-showtime. Call (800) 657-7025

    About Us

    Since 1989, the professional artists of the Commonweal have brought to life soulful stories told with honesty and creativity. Located in the heart of southeast Minnesota’s bluff country, Lanesboro read more
    • About

      Since 1989, the professional artists of the Commonweal have brought to life soulful stories told with honesty and creativity. Located in the heart of southeast Minnesota’s bluff country, Lanesboro (pop. 750) is home to the company’s theatre in its historic downtown. Our company and our productions have earned state, regional, and international awards.

      The heart of the Commonweal’s programming is the mainstage season. This balanced yet challenging repertory is traditionally comprised of five plays with more than 180 performances, chosen from among the world’s finest classic, contemporary, and emerging playwrights. The rotating repertory schedule allows visitors to see more than one production during a weekend stay, with alternating performances running Thursday through Saturday evenings, Sunday matinees, and, in the summer and fall, Saturday matinees and Monday evenings. The company boasts a distinctive organizational model with resident ensemble members (who have come from all over the country to make their home in the Lanesboro area) fulfilling the day-to-day artistic and operational needs of the company as artist/administrators.

    • Highlights

      • Professional, live theatre
      • Plays, comedies, dramas, musicals
      • Comfortable seats, climate-controlled building
      • Repertory: see more than one show in a weekend
      • Hours: Varied. Call (800) 657-7025 for up-to-date operating hours.
    • Media

    • Member Events

      Thursday Apr 25, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Friday Apr 26, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Apr 27, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Sunday Apr 28, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Thursday May 2, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Friday May 3, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday May 4, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Sunday May 5, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by MN playwright Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Friday May 10, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Sunday May 12, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Thursday May 16, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday May 17, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Saturday May 18, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Thursday May 23, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday May 24, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday May 25, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Sunday May 26, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Monday May 27, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Thursday May 30, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday May 31, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 1, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 1, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Sunday Jun 2, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Monday Jun 3, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Thursday Jun 6, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday Jun 7, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 8, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 8, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Sunday Jun 9, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Monday Jun 10, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Thursday Jun 13, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday Jun 14, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 15, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 15, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Sunday Jun 16, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Monday Jun 17, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Thursday Jun 20, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
      Friday Jun 21, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 22, 2019
      A twisting, tantalizing mystery by Jeffrey Hatcher. ...read more
      Saturday Jun 22, 2019
      Fasten your seatbelts—there’s turbulence ahead in this laugh-out-loud, over-the-top farce! ...read more
    • Directions

      From the North Take Highway 52 south through Rochester and Chatfield. At Fountain (about 9 miles south of Chatfield) turn left (east) onto County Road 8. Then it’s 9 miles to Lanesboro.

    • Receive our monthly e-newsletter!

    • Sign Up Now